What Metaliteracy Means to Me

I feel that in the world today, it is crucial to be metaliterate. Our world has completely transformed into a digital world and things are not the same as they were in the past. For example, we do not even have to go to the store to buy something we need we can just order it online. Because the world is different than how it used to be, I believe that the way that people think and solve problems is different. People are more intelligent because we are given so much access to information because of this digital world. I really like the graphic of the “metaliterate learner” because having access to information and having the opportunity to share your ideas with the world make a person so much more than just a learner. The metaliterate learner, based on the graphic, is also a participator, a publisher, a teacher, an author, and so much more. Becoming metaliterate will help me in school and beyond because I will be able to communicate with the rest of the world and be successful. In the future, I plan to be a nurse and when I shadowed health professionals in the hospital, I noticed that everything that was once written on paper was now recorded on a computer or iPad, when they were interacting with patients. Being metaliterate and using social networking helps me to keep in touch with friends and family that live far away. I hope that I learn new things about how to use technology and become more metaliterate by taking this class. I feel that know a lot about metaliteracy, but I am not an expert and I would like to be.

#metaliteracy

Leave a comment